Home

Well, that was cute.

  • Oct. 30th, 2006 at 12:10 AM
cat - after teo rus, bad post!, sleepy goth, crossroads, money, mikage: go deeper, treason and plot, raahhhr!, asuka, O RLY? YS RLY!, bitch please, Angry Young Meredith, fat bob's novel, rose window, space hog!, sup fruits, oh really?, me!, gunpowder, doom, needs head!, native habitat, dehydrated water, brave, serious
Just got an amusing bit of spam: a "you've received an electronic postcard" note purporting to be from http://www.all-yours.net, actually originating from silverline-s27.de. As with your average PayPal/eBay phishing scam, the "pick up your postcard" link goes to an entirely different location, in this case http://mortalcity.com/postcard.jpg.exe. (Nice try, jokers; the power of viewing all my mail in plaintext repels you.)

I haven't gone to the trouble of decompiling the binary yet, as I don't know the first thing about malware analysis and don't presently have time to learn. If any of my Gentle Readers would care to ([info]foxgrrl? [info]ernunnos?), though, I'd love to hear what's in it -- botnet, I'm guessing.

Anywho, mortalcity.com appears on the surface to be a legitimate small webhosting company -- at least, the domains they claim to host do in fact appear to be hosted there -- so I forwarded the spam to the admin, just in case his server's been pwned or something. And now you all know about a variation on the phishing theme, so I've done my service to society for the night.

EDIT: No reply from the admin, but the malware's gone. Huzzah.